Series 6, Quest 6. Sophia attends the Academy of Magic, led by Hordriss the Confuser.

Series 6: Overview

By Keith McDonald

What's new in Series 6 of Knightmare? A summary of the main differences.

Start of Series

Series 6 (1992). The series begins when new titles emerge through Lord Fear's pool.

A swift introduction, before the first dungeoneer is introduced.

Start with Team 1

Similarities and Differences

The structure remains largely the same as the previous series. Treguard continues to direct proceedings, with assistance from Pickle.

There are several major changes to the dungeon and its characters.

Series 6, Team 4. January throws powder at Sidriss to release her from a spell.

Series 6 saw new titles for the first time, as well as new theme music.

There was no Children's ITV competition this year, but Treguard did make a promotional appearance to announce the new series.

Children's ITV in 1992


Teams begin with a 'Hall of Choice', where they select from one of the four classic quest objects. Purpose-built dwarf tunnels provide a regular link between sections of the dungeon.

The life force indicator changed to a walking knight, which shed its armour to reveal a skeleton. This sometimes collapsed when a dungeoneer 'died'.

Series 6 Quest 6 - Level 3 - Hordriss exam room

Causeways remained the most regular challenge. These were standardised to alphanumeric sequences for Series 6, with a frightknight used as a timing device.

The dungeon had several fixed strongholds to accommodate the new characters, including Wolfenden and Witch Haven.

View the Series 6 dungeon


Lord Fear became established as the sole Leader of the Opposition - a throwback to Series 2, before Morghanna, Malice and Aesandre provided secondary threats.

He resided in Mount Fear, with quest objects stored in the Caverns of Gore. His main line of defence was the Great Causeway, which had three stages to complete.

Close up of Lord Fear during his monologue at the end of Knightmare Series 6.

Several new characters were introduced. Sidriss, the daughter of Hordriss, provided foil for Motley. Ah Wok, an Oriental tradesman, provided competition for the scheming Julius Scaramonger.

The witches were ruled by Queen Greystagg. Lord Fear was keen to strike an alliance with the witches, but she denied him. Teams might face Peggatty, who attacked dungeoneers with fireballs, or Heggatty, who provided help in exchange for Witch Amber.

The fiery Captain Nemanor led the Cloudwalker, a ship that lay in or around Level 3. He detested Lord Fear and proved an important ally.

View the Series 6 characters

Start of Episode

Series 6 (1992). Episodes began with the Book of Quests - a summary of the team's progress.

Episodes begin with an introduction from Treguard followed by Pickle's progress report from the 'Book of Quests'.

Treguard then announces, 'game on'.

End of Episode

Series 6 (1992). The Book of Quests shows the quest pausing at the end of the first episode.

Treguard: "Lord Fear, until time turns again, you may not harass them..."

Play fair, or Fear play foul. We begin again at the allotted hour.


You Might Also Like...

Knightmare in Wireframe Magazine

Header image formed of the graphic featuring Knightmare in Wireframe.

Knightmare is the subject of a splendid feature in Issue 40 of Wireframe, the computer game magazine.

Hugo Myatt Appears in Knightmare Live

Hugo Myatt in rehearsals with Paul Flannery for Knightmare Live (2016). Picture credit: Jackie Vance.

Knightmare's Hugo Myatt made a dramatic appearance in Knightmare Live this weekend, marking the end of the Udderbelly Festival.

Knightmare Interviews

Hand holding a microphone

Early in 2002, Debbie Glover interviewed Tim Child (creator of Knightmare), Hugo Myatt (Treguard) and David Learner (Pickle).

See Also