Video Game?

Series, Teams, History, Behind the scenes etc. - all discussed here.
tomyboy
Level 1 Dungeoneer
Level 1 Dungeoneer
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 8:07 am

Video Game?

Post by tomyboy » Tue Jun 08, 2004 5:47 pm

Is or was there ever a video game made? Even if it's a PC game. From photo and video clips from the Knightmare website, I think they could make it into a good video game!!!!

User avatar
HStorm
Fright Knight
Fright Knight
Posts: 2789
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 1:12 pm
Location: Salford, UK
Contact:

Re:Video Game?

Post by HStorm » Tue Jun 08, 2004 7:54 pm

There were two computer games, one for the Spectrum and the other for the Amiga (I think). They were both very fiddly and awkward to play and were far from in keeping with the spirit or identity of the series.
Knightmare Audio Plays from The Dunshelm Players.

MoanaLiza
Fright Knight
Fright Knight
Posts: 2202
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 9:48 pm
Location: The Hundred Acre Wood near Winnie The Pooh :)
Contact:

Re:Video Game?

Post by MoanaLiza » Tue Jun 08, 2004 8:01 pm

Also Skippy (Skip the dreadnought) is in the process of creating a computer game.
The Forum Moana and chief honey pot carrier!
"Come and take a gander at this bit of ugliness"

FrightKnight
Knight
Knight
Posts: 600
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 12:22 am
Location: Doom Fortress
Contact:

Re:Video Game?

Post by FrightKnight » Tue Jun 08, 2004 8:03 pm

Yes, the second knightmare game, for the Amiga (the retro home computer of champions), did receive 85% in a magazine, but it played like another game- Captive (it was based on the same engine, actually).

Darn it, I knew there was a magazine scan I could have done. I'll do it soon. I'll scan in the review.
"A rotting pie! Oh no, I'm dead!"

beamrider2600
Level 2 Dungeoneer
Level 2 Dungeoneer
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 12:58 pm
Location: St Albans, Hertfordshire
Contact:

Re:Video Game?

Post by beamrider2600 » Tue Jun 08, 2004 8:06 pm

I have an Amiga, maybe I should track it down. Does anyone know how easy/difficult it is to find?
..........................lets go ride some BEAMS!!

MoanaLiza
Fright Knight
Fright Knight
Posts: 2202
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 9:48 pm
Location: The Hundred Acre Wood near Winnie The Pooh :)
Contact:

Re:Video Game?

Post by MoanaLiza » Tue Jun 08, 2004 8:08 pm

There are a few bits of info on games here http://knightmare.com/reviews/compgames/index.htm
The Forum Moana and chief honey pot carrier!
"Come and take a gander at this bit of ugliness"

User avatar
HStorm
Fright Knight
Fright Knight
Posts: 2789
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 1:12 pm
Location: Salford, UK
Contact:

Re:Video Game?

Post by HStorm » Tue Jun 08, 2004 8:09 pm

Keep your eyes in Amazon or E-bay. The games usually pop up there from time to time. The books too.
Knightmare Audio Plays from The Dunshelm Players.

Snowcat
Level 3 Dungeoneer
Level 3 Dungeoneer
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2003 2:55 pm
Location: Central Scotland

Re:Video Game?

Post by Snowcat » Wed Jun 09, 2004 11:36 am

If it helps anybody, I've got Disk images of both 'Official' Knightmare games that you can run in an emulator ('WinUAE' for Amiga and whatever you can find for Amstrad CPC).

Can E-mail on if anyone wants them.

However, if any of the 'head-highs' aren't keen on me doing this Please tell me!
There are but 2 rules in this realm:-
1) He who sees first is the winner...
2) He who is seen first is toast...

tomyboy
Level 1 Dungeoneer
Level 1 Dungeoneer
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 8:07 am

Re:Video Game?

Post by tomyboy » Wed Jun 09, 2004 6:59 pm

Do the games work on modern computers?

Billy
Knight
Knight
Posts: 578
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2002 10:53 pm
Location: London

Re:Video Game?

Post by Billy » Wed Jun 09, 2004 7:05 pm

The second game was on floppy disk, but I believe Amiga and Atari ST floppies were formatted differently to PC and Mac floppies. And the first game was on floppy disk and audio tape. So I'm afraid the answer is no.

FrightKnight
Knight
Knight
Posts: 600
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 12:22 am
Location: Doom Fortress
Contact:

Re:Video Game?

Post by FrightKnight » Thu Jun 10, 2004 12:54 pm

Yes, ironically Amigas can read PC disks, but PCs can't do vice versa.

That's why the disks have to be converted into 'ADF's. Then they'll work under WinUAE. On yet another hand, you also need the Kickstart ROM for an Amiga, which can be obtained either (illegally) on the Internet, purchasing 'Amiga forever' from Cloanto (sic?), which gives you the ROMs legally (and shows you how to set up an Amiga), or you get them from an...Amiga.

Yes, it's a lot of work for a game that in the end isn't that great.
"A rotting pie! Oh no, I'm dead!"

tomyboy
Level 1 Dungeoneer
Level 1 Dungeoneer
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 8:07 am

Re:Video Game?

Post by tomyboy » Thu Jun 10, 2004 6:55 pm

FrightKnight wrote:
Yes, it's a lot of work for a game that in the end isn't that great.
I won't bother to search for one then! Which company do you think would make a Knightmare game?
(This is more of a question aimed at people my age i.e 14)

NimaGraven
Dungeoneer
Dungeoneer
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 12:12 pm
Location: Liverpool, UK
Contact:

Re:Video Game?

Post by NimaGraven » Thu Jun 10, 2004 7:12 pm

FrightKnight wrote: Yes, it's a lot of work for a game that in the end isn't that great.
I suppose you mean for a game based on the series of Knightmare it wasn't that good.. Or did the Captive engine just fail it in general? Hmm.. Because from what I can remember, Captive and Captive II: Liberation were both very good games for the Amiga.

tomyboy
Level 1 Dungeoneer
Level 1 Dungeoneer
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 8:07 am

Re:Video Game?

Post by tomyboy » Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:02 pm

I went on Ebay and found out that Activision made it. So I've emailed them asking them if they could make an modern version!

beamrider2600
Level 2 Dungeoneer
Level 2 Dungeoneer
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 12:58 pm
Location: St Albans, Hertfordshire
Contact:

Re:Video Game?

Post by beamrider2600 » Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:21 pm

^NOOOOOO you don't want activision to make it, they suck.

Edit: after writing that I just realised that my screename is in reference to an old activision game - so I looked stupid just then...
Last edited by beamrider2600 on Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
..........................lets go ride some BEAMS!!

Post Reply